Lovely May Weekend

We had two days in a row with breaks from the rain……time to head outside and do a little gardening.  Yesterday was errands day, and then I was, I must admit, a little lazy.  Today, I was up with the sun, cleaned the house, straightened the refrigerator, and tended to the dairy chores.

I made…..

  • Viili Starter Culture (5200): A Finnish yoghurt variety, Viili is very mild and creamy, with a fairly thick consistency. It’s a versatile favorite that’s perfect on its own or in any yoghurt recipe.
  • Matsoni Starter Culture (5202):  Matsoni, from The Republic of Georgia, has a thin, custard-like texture with notes of honey. Its flavor is the most “yoghurty” and is a popular choice for frozen yoghurt.

I haven’t tried these cultures yet.  They incubate at room temperature and don’t require a yoghurt machine.

There was also……

A batch of the yoghurt I typically make, started from a store bought yoghurt.  This one I scald the milk to 175 degrees, cool it back to 115 degrees add the starter yoghurt and incubate for 5-6 hours.

The jar to the left is culturing milk kefir and the others on the right are cultures of crème fraîche.  The batch closest to the yoghurt maker is cream, the far right jar is milk.  Both were heated to 85 degrees before some crème fraîche starter was added.

I also find it hard to pass up butter making in the spring when the cream is so bright yellow from the new grass.  I had a little over 1 quarts of cream, and now I have a nice bit of delicious butter and a jar of buttermilk for cooking.

After the morning chill burned off, I made my way outside to put in the start of my new herb garden.  I’ve tried several spots around the house and they are either too far from the kitchen, too prone to being taken over by quack-grass or too close to too much dog hair.  I decided to try the bed in front of the garage.  It’s close to the front door, has a sidewalk acting as a quack-grass-barricade, and is protected from dog fur by the garage.  It also seemed to winter over my tiny Bay Tree and a Thyme plant from last summer when all of the others frozen in our record cold spell.

I put in fennel, dill, variegated oregano, green oregano, thyme, and sage. I was also able to pick up some violas last week on clearance for $0.40 so I added them to the window boxes of lettuce and nasturtium.  In addition, I potted up a clearance lavender and a pretty little lemon scented geranium.

The potatoes I put in a week of two ago have started coming up in the galvenized tub.  It will soon be time to add some extra soil.

 

 

Its beautiful and green outside.  The perfect time to add a little green inside the kitchen.  Fresh herbs and cress are tasty and beautiful.

This entry was posted in May 2017, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

