Summer Vacation Day 50 – A Day of Rest

I had some diagnostic surgery yesterday and, although everything is just fine, I’m supposed to take it easy for a few days and not lift anything over 5 pound.  I slept most of yesterday, so I didn’t sleep most of yesterday night.  I want to nap, but I don’t want to not go to sleep until 6:15 in the morning, so I’m trying to power through the afternoon and evening,

Anyway, this morning I……

  • made a batch of applesauce from the Strawberry Apples.  Wow is it bland!  I finally added a little nutmeg, which helped, but I’m not sure I’m going to go to the trouble to can it.  I may just add it to some figs and make fruit leather.  I’ll decide later.
  • made DH a double batch of Granola.  This time with pecans and dried cranberries.  It should be enough to tide him over for at least a month.
  • was also able to get out and pick some of the last of the blackberries. I cooked them up with a little water and strained them for jelly.  A perfect job for tomorrow.
  • wrapped up the bacon in some cheese cloth and popped it into the cheese cave to cure.  I weighed it, but I’m not sure if it’s supposed to lose 30% from now or from the original weight which I don’t have.  Oops!
  • made a batch of No-Knead Bread dough for the refrigerator.
  • tended to the sourdough

…….and now that nap is really calling my name.

This entry was posted in August 2016. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

