Summer Vacation Day 12 – Beginning the Pantry Clean out

We arrived home from eastern Oregon late last night so I slept in a bit this morning.  Once breakfast was sorted, DH and I headed out to pick up the milk at the farm and run a couple of errands on the way home.

I checked on the online auction items I had bid on (for school) and was very pleased to find I had the high bid on a a die cut press and a set of letters.  The winning bids totaled $38.00 and new these items would have set our school back $795.00.

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 8.51.48 PM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.23.46 PM

 

 

 

 

I had also checked on a couple of new sewing machines at the online auction, a couple of them looked good, but DH reminded me that it’s a tricky item to buy without trying it out.  He started checking on Craigslist and found me an amazing 1956 Pfaff 230 with the most fantastic cabinet.  The front pulls completely out and becomes a chair with two drawers under the seat.  The lady selling it was very sweet and had just had the machine tuned up.  It weighs a ton and sews like a dream.  Not too many fancy stitches, but I don’t use those anyway.

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 10.39.25 AM

When we returned from the sewing machine pick-up, I pulled out all of the starches that I could find in the kitchen and pantry and laid them out on the dining room table.  It was completely full.  I went through everything, stored it in glass jars and packed it back away.  The pantry cabinet looks wonderful now; dried fruit on the top, cereals and grains on shelf below, rice below that and lentils and other assorted items on the bottom. Up above is the processed cereal, the kombucha brewing and the vinegars. IMG_1748IMG_1747

This entry was posted in June 2016, Spring Cleaning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

