April Weekend

It’s just about noon on Sunday and the clouds are thickening – looks like the rains are coming in.

I was able to get a number of small chores taken care of this morning…..

IMG_1528

I used my new sourdough starter to make a batch of pancakes – they were yummy.  The sourdough is a strain that was started in about 1918 in California and uses milk and bread to feed the culture. Thanks Gary Z.

IMG_1529

Kenton Puppy and I spent a little time, before the rains come, planting a few purple and red potatoes in the raised bed in the backyard. I only left them out a day and a bit after cutting them so I hope they work out.

IMG_1530

The Kombucha scobys are doing really well so I bottled Kombucha today and started some new batches. One is English Breakfast and Zen, the other is Earl Grey and Zen. The big bottle is a mix of both.

IMG_1531

The local grocery is going out of business so I was able to pick up a 20 pound bag of rice for 40% off. I put it into canning jars to help keep bug out. This should keep us in rice through the summer (?).

FullSizeRender

I found this great little water cooler at a thrift shop in a nearby town yesterday on my way back from coaching our “Battle of the Books” team. The valve wasn’t screwed in very well so it was a little leaky, but I tightened it up and it seems better now.

IMG_1532

I’ve been trying to start a vinegar mother and haven’t had any luck. I tried again this morning using a scrap from the Kombucha scabby, some Bragg’s cider vinegar and some apple cider. Hopefully this time we’ll get better results.
The milk is looking lovely again this week. The cream is so yellow from that nice spring grass that the cow is grazing on. It makes such beautiful butter.

IMG_1533
I’ve been trying to start a vinegar mother and haven’t had any luck. I tried again this morning using a scrap from the Kombucha scabby, some Bragg’s cider vinegar and some apple cider. Hopefully this time we’ll get better results.

This entry was posted in April 2016. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

