Summer Vacation – Day ?? (only 8 days left)

Today was a busy day as we’re wrapping up our summer vacation and getting ready to go back to school.  A started out the day at the Gladstone Goodwill shop where I picked up a lovely set of casseroles and a baking dish.  The are handmade and decorated with blue slip.  I’d been waiting for them for weeks, trying to see if they would hold out until they were half price. Today was the day. I think they are just lovely.

IMG_0854

 

My second stop was at the Oregon City Goodwill store.  I really couldn’t find much and was just about to leave when I spotted a big brown canister.  I went to look at it and it seemed to actually be a crock for but it was a little stuck between shelves so I had to figure out how to un-wedge it.  I opened the lid and figured out it was a 10 liter fermenting crock.  I’m really looking forward to trying to make some pickles or sauerkraut.

IMG_0853

IMG_0858

 

The third stop was Safeway where I picked up some shrimp (for etouffee) and some bangers (for supper later in the week) on clearance.

The last stop was Albertson’s.  They had a lot of meat on clearance.  I was able to pick up 13 chicken quarters, 8 pounds of ground turkey and pork, some shredded cheese, and bread for under$15.00.  The drumsticks are in the freezer, the thighs got boned and frozen, the bones made stock for the étouffée.  The ground meat made 8 batches of meatballs; tandoori turkey, thanksgiving turkey, sumac turkey and barbecue pork.  They are also all tucked away into the freezer.

IMG_0855

Aside from the cooking, I was able to get all of the linen ironed and folded.  Now my feet are killing me and I’m going to take a little rest.

This entry was posted in August 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

