Clotted Cream

 

IMG_3121

We had quite a bit of cream piling up and I ran into a wonderful new cookbook at the thrift store so I decided to combine the two and try my hand at clotted cream.  The book is called Forgotten Skills of Cooking by Darina Allen

img_9535-300x300The process of making clotted cream was time consuming (about 12 hours) but really easy.

  • I skimmed the cream layer off the top of the milk and put it into a heat proof casserole.
  • Then covered that with a layer of aluminum foil.
  • Next I popped it into a very cool (175 degree) oven for about 11 hours.
  • Before bed I took it out to cool a bit and then transferred it into the refrigerator overnight.
  • The next morning I scraped off the top layer that formed and popped it into the mixer for a quick whip up.
  • The liquid portion left behind was used to make some lovely scones.
This entry was posted in 2015, Brunch Favorites, March 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

