Hat Number Two – Feb Knit & Purl

photo-2

After the striped stocking hat, I decided to try another hat to see if I could improve my technique. I love these circular hat because there is so much less counting than my scarf sampler. I used a teal wool (primary) that I purchased with a coupon and alternated it with apple green wool (secondary) from an unwound sweater.

I did tear out a bunch after my son tried it on and told me it needed to be longer and slouch some so I don’t have much of a pattern.

Cast 78 stitches of the primary color on to the circular needle. Making sure the stitches are all on the inside of the circular needle, join the stitches and mark the beginning of round.
Create 3.5″ of ribbing using knit 2, purl 2.

Knit a row using both colors combined. This gave the stripes a interesting random pattern and helped me avoid some of the loose holes I had in the previous hat.

Using just with the secondary color, create 5 rows of stockinette by knitting every round on the circular needles. Alternate colors every 5 rows, adding a combined row at each color transition.

When the hat is long enough for you taste, start reducing, alternating colors if you wish. I finished up with just the teal again.

Knit 2 together, knit 12 for one row (don’t worry if it’s not a complete set on the row)
Knit 2 together, knit 11 for one row
Knit 2 together, knit 10 for one row
Knit 2 together, knit 9 for one row
Knit 2 together, knit 8 for one row
Knit 2 together, knit 7 for one row
Knit 2 together, knit 6 for one row
Knit 2 together, knit 5 for one row
Knit 2 together, knit 4 for one row – Here I had to switch over to 4 double point needles
Knit 2 together, knit 3 for one row
Knit 2 together, knit 2 for one row
Knit 2 together, knit 1 for one row
Cast off, pulling the top of the hat closed.

This entry was posted in 2014, February 2014, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

