Crazy Days – Canning up a storm

June 2:  I had no time to take photos today, so I’ll try to post some tomorrow.  We picked up a large load from the gleaning location today and spent most of the afternoon preparing it for storage.  What a treasure:

Acai Berry and Pomegranate Juice

  • I have about 1.5 gallons fermenting in a carboy to which I added a packet of champagne yeast.
  • I used 3 1/2 cups to make jelly (combined with 7 Tablespoons pectin, 2 Tablespoons lemon juice, and 5 cups of sugar)
  • I and another 8 cups fermenting with 2 Tablespoons of baking yeast to make into fermented sugar.

About half of the spinach has been blanched and hot packed into pints in the pressure canner for 75 minutes.  I’ll do the other batch tomorrow.

The strawberry rhubarb jam that I started last week is canned, yielding 12 half pints.

The strawberry jam is also done, yielding 4 pints.

I heated some of the homemade white wine vinegar and added it to three containers of fresh tarragon for some tarragon vinegar.

We had enough green beans to put into a quart jar for pickling (white vinegar, sugar and pickling spice).

I cut up about 1 1/2 pound of rhubarb to put into the freezer.  When I get 10 pounds I’ll start this years batch of rhubarb wine.

I’ve got three trays of apple slices in the dehydrator.

Tomorrow I hope to make a batch of zucchini bread, finish the spinach, put up a batch of chicken broth and another of carrots.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in 2012, June 2012, Putting up. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

