Pancetta

Thank you very much to Mark S. at Belly to Bacon for the recipe idea and procedures for trying my first Pancetta.  Joe had ordered 5 pounds of pork belly from Shy Anne Meats to make into bacon.  When I picked it up they asked if I wanted the whole 8 pound piece  – Of course, time for experimenting. The process of making Pancetta starts in the same way as bacon and with the same cut of pork.  Joe cut off a quarter of the belly for me because I only want about a 7 inch long tube because I’m going to try to hang in the mini fridge to cure.

The Rub

  • 1.5 cloves of fresh garlic
  • 3 grams pink salt
  • 15 grams kosher salt
  • 7.5 grams brown sugar
  • 4 grams pepper
  • 2.5 grams juniper berries
  • 1 bay leaf (oops I forgot this in the pantry*)
  • 1 grams grated nutmeg
  • 1.5 t thyme leaves

We rubbed both sides of the belly with this, slide it into a vacuum bag, sealed it and tucked it into the refrigerator with the rest of the brown sugar bacon for a rest.

brown sugar bacon and pancetta

 

*  The reason I didn’t go back into the pantry for this is because the first time, when I retrieved the juniper berries and thyme, I had to go around to the garage to get into the pantry, squeeze past the air scrubber and dehumidifier, move a floor to ceiling tension rod holding up the plastic tarps all to get the pantry door.  Then I had to put everything back and try to reseal the tape.  I was not going back in for a bay leaf.  We had a leak in our hot water pump and have been living in an insurance disaster zone since.

This entry was posted in 2012, April 2012, Putting up, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

