A Busy Weekend

Saturday started with a bit of snow, nothing sticking, but any snow is pretty exciting in the Willamette Valley.  The kids had basketball games and district solo competitions in music so we ran around a lot until afternoon.   When we got home, I finished up the bathroom flooring and cleaned house. It was not a terribly exciting day.

Sunday was a bit more productive.

Soaked Almonds in the Dehydrator

I started the morning by putting my Soaked Almonds in the dehydrator.  I had soaked 2 cups of raw almonds in 4 cups of water with the addition of 1 T of sea salt.  I let them soak overnight the drained and rinsed them.  I put them in the dehydrator at 112 degrees and they should be done on Monday morning.

I learned from GNOWFGLINS, that nuts tend to be high in phytic acid, a substance that reduces your ability to absorb the minerals in them. Almonds are no exception.  It is thought that soaking them inhibits the enzyme and makes their digestion and absorption more efficient.

Rice Soaking in Water and Cider Vinegar

I also put on a pot of brown rice to soak for Monday night’s supper.  I combined 4 cups of hot water (just under a boil) with 2 cups of brown rice and 4 Tablespoons of raw cider vinegar. I will cover the mixture and let it hang out on the back of the stove until tomorrow evening.  Then I’ll drain off and replace the soaking water, add a Tablespoon of coconut oil and a teaspoon of salt.  It should probably take about 25 minutes to cook.

I used the Kefir Bread recipe from Just Like My Nan Made, to make a loaf of sandwich bread.  Noah helped my start the dough in the bread machine.  We combined:

Kefir Bread

  • 450ml milk kefir
  • 2 T butter
  • 2 t salt
  • 4 T sugar
  • 750g white flour
  • 1 T dry active yeast

Once it finished in the machine I put it into a loaf pan and let it rise on the shelf next to the dehydrator.  Then it was into the oven at 450º for 10 minutes followed by 25 minutes at 400º.  I messed up the timer at the beginning so my loaf turned out a little dark, but it tastes great.

Bottling the Hard Cider

Joe decided to finally get the hard cider into bottles.  We had talked about whether we wanted cider or apple wine several time so we decided to do both; half cider and half wine.  Joe siphoned off half of the carboy into a bucket and we’re going to add potassium sorbate to stop the fermentation and then bottle it tomorrow (we might ass a bit more sugar).  The other half,  Joe added some dissolved corn sugar to and bottled into beer bottles (they’re stronger than wine bottles).

I made a batch of Orange-Coconut Granola in the afternoon – the recipe (adapted from the Moveable Feast) follows:

  • 4 cups thick oats

    Orange-Coconut Granola

  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • zest from 2 oranges
  • 1 1/2 cup walnut halves
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1/6 cup agave maple syrup
  • 1/6 cup tangerine honey

Melt the butter and add the honey, syrup and juice.  Stir to combine.
Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl.
Pour the liquids over the dry ingredients and stir until well coated.
Bake at 350º for about 35-40 minutes – turning occasionally

I also made up a batch of sourdough bread, but it seemed oddly sticky so I put it into the refrigerator to rise slowly until I get home from work tomorrow.  The milk kefir and kombucha are tended to, the new batch of greek yoghurt (thanks again for the instructions Salad in a Jar) is in the warmer, and I made a batch of egg salad for breakfasts during the week.

I also finished a batch of dried strawberries from some that were leftover from Valentine’s Day.  I’m going to try to grind them up and use them as a sprinkle over yoghurt or oatmeal.

This entry was posted in 2012, February 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

