Fantastic Oatmeal – What?

I’ve always been okay with eating oatmeal, but I’ve never loved it.  Today, I fell in love.  I followed the recipe at Kath Eats Real Food.  This is the creamiest, most flavorful and delicious oatmeal I have ever had.

1/2 cup skim milk
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup oats
3/4 banana – sliced

Combine the ingredients in a pot and bring to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer 4-5 minutes or until the liquid is absorbed.  During the cooking, stir like crazy to break up the bananas and make everything creamy.

Remove from the heat and add 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract.

Divide into two bowls and, to each, add 1 teaspoon light brown sugar and a tablespoon of peanut butter.

 

This entry was posted in 2012, Brunch Favorites, February 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fantastic Oatmeal – What?

  1. Deb says:

    Sounds like a strange combo, banana and peanut butter, not sure I could cope with that.
    Glad you love it though!

  2. David says:

    Hello there,

    This has nothing to do with oatmeal but I think, like me, you too are a beginner at cheese making. I really appreciated Gavin’s tutorials and have so far made about 15 batches , though I have to say very few actually meet my expectations. Most have been too crumbly and none of the books seem to be able to point to a precise cause. My latest thoughts on this are to use much less rennet. My current batch (in the press as I write) was 9 litres of milk to which I added 2.5 grams of rennet. It set-up very well and so next time I may try only 2 grams. My theory is that too much rennet makes a hard curd that cannot adhere very well to itself when it finally gets in the press. One recipe I read somewhere used a tiny amount of rennet and the milk took overnight to set-up. The other thing that may be making it too crumbly is temperature during the pressing stage. The curd tends to cool down when sitting in the press on my kitchen counter so I am trying my current batch in my bread proofing gadget (a hotel or apartment sized refrigerator with the cooling mechanism removed, being replaced with a 60 watt light bulb and a thermostat.) I have it set at 30 degrees C for the cheese which I hope is enough. That’s what I use for bread and yogurt too.

    I could also make a few comments and possible suggestions to help with your sourdough bread, so if you are interested, post a reply or email me.
    David

  3. David says:

    A follow-up to my previous comment. Leaving the cheese in the press in my warming cabinet overnight wasn’t such a good idea. The cheesecloth stuck to the cheese so tightly that as I peeled off the cheesecloth a layer of cheese came with it. I actually did a double batch and the other half which I left on the kitchen counter was fine. The cheesecloth peeled off nicely.

    Both cheeses look very respectable and they are now air drying prior to waxing.

    I made ricotta with the whey and that yielded just over one pound which I hope to try in a cheesecake.
    David

Leave a Reply

