First Cheese and Hamburger Buns

June 29:  I took the cheese out of the press and have it drying on the counter.  I have no idea what will become of it, but it’s a fun experiment.


June 28:  Today I tried my hand at cheesemaking.  I heated 2 gallons (-1 pint) of milk and 1 pint of cream to 90 degrees.  I adding my culture and had it sit for 45 minutes.  Then I added 1/2 Tablespoons of rennet in 1/4 water and waited for it to coagulate…….

Still waiting………

I’ll check it later…….

 Now I can hang it to drain and then put it into the cheese press that Joe made for me.  Remember, the press is an experiment and needs some modifications after its maiden voyage.

June 27:  Noah and I decided to try making homemade buns for the sliders we’re making for dinner this evening.  The recipe follows

  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 1 1/4 cups warm milk
  • 2 T soft butter
  • 1 egg – beaten
  • 4 1/4 cups unbleached flour
Place all of the ingredients into the mixer and mix for ten minutes using the dough hook. Transfer to an oiled bowl and cover to rise – about 1 hour.
On a floured surface, roll out the dough to about 1″ thick.  Cut into circles with a round cutter or a greased drinking glass.  Bake at 350° for 9-13 minutes.

The buns turned out great!  Golden brown and very tasty.  We didn’t however get to try them with burgers…..My husband took the sliders out to start the grill.  It flared up and when he jumped, he threw the sliders onto the patio.  The dogs are having some really nice ground beef for dinner and we’re having chicken legs.

I also tried out the bread cloche today that I picked up at Goodwill (a year ago).  I was afraid that the top might break as it had a crack repair.  Fortunately, the top held, but less fortunately, the bottom broke.  The bread looks fantastic.
 
This entry was posted in 2011, Baking, June 2011, Putting up. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

