Food Storage on a Budget – Week 5

4/12:   Week 5

Purchase:  I just wasn’t feeling inspired by the grocery adds this week and decided to go “off list”.  The Sunday newspaper (4/10) smart source insert had a coupon for $3.oo off of Bic Hybrid razors which are also on sale at Rite Aid.  The coupon makes them $1.99 each.  In addition there is a $2+UP reward when you buy two which makes them $.99 each.  Perfect for the boys in the family. This made a total of $3.96.

Week Five total = $4.76

I added Idahoan dehydrated potatoes from Albertson’s.  When I added 5 extras to some other groceries I was purchasing, I was able to qualify for the $5.00 back when you buy 10 items.  This made the potatoes $.49 each.  I found a link at Coupon Connections NW to a coupon for an additional $1.00 off three packages which brought them down to only $.16 each.


Chore: This week I need to go through some odd little light kits that I bought a couple of  years back after the “big snow storm”.  I can’t really remember what’s in them.  It ends up that the boxes contain SnapLights emergency Glow Sticks.
The larger kit contains:

  • 2 x homework lights (2 hour)
  • 2 x room lights (4 hours)
  • 2 x night lights (8 hour)
  • 1 x evacuation light (4 hour)

Each of the smaller boxes contains 2 x home lights (4 hour)

The biggest problem that I see is that they do have a sticker that reads “best used by May 2011” so I guess I will pack them away with the evacuation supplies as a backup.  I’ll make sure that I have another source of light in case they don’t work.

Wish:  I still need to find a nice old tool kit or tackle box at the Goodwill store to turn into a medical kit.  I need to also locate a list of what to include.

This entry was posted in 2011, April 2011, Food Storage on a Budget. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

