Food Storage on a Budget – Week 4

3/27:   Week 4

Purchase: I was able to get a great deal on dental products this morning for under my $5.00 limit.  Fred Meyer has Crest toothpaste and Oral B (cavity defense) toothbrushes on sale 4/$5.00.  I had $1.00/1 coupons for the toothpaste and $2.00/2 coupons for the toothbrushes making them $.25 each.  The unexpected part is that when I got to the store, the toothpaste comes with a bonus – a travel toothpaste, a mini floss and a set of coupons.  Altogether the 10 toothbrushes and 5 toothpaste sets came to $3.75.

I also picked up 4 Hall’s cough drops and 4 packages of hair bands free at Rite Aid.  I think hair bands would come in very handy in an emergency where I might not be able to shampoo as often as I would like. What should I do with that extra 1.25?

Chore: This week I need to inventory the lamp oil and wicks for the antique oil lamps that we use during power outages.  I’m not sure where to buy more wicks, but I think Fred Meyer might have some.  I wonder how many wicks I would go through in a week with no electricity?  I located all four of the antique lamps (two are pictured below).  Two have been electrified, but I kept the original hardware, so I can put them back together in case we need them.  I also  found 2 extra wicks and 2 bottles of lamp oil.  I’ll try to add a few wicks each month and a few more bottles of oil.  I need to find a safe way to store the oil so I don’t blow up the garage.

antique oil lamps

Wish:  I want to find a nice old tool kit or tackle box at the Goodwill store to turn into a medical kit.  I need to also locate a list of what to include. I found a great list on the Ready.gov site for things to include in a basic first aid kit.  If anyone has ideas for additional items I should include, I’d love to have suggestions.

This entry was posted in 2011, April 2011, Food Storage on a Budget. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food Storage on a Budget – Week 4

  1. Pingback: Assembling your emergency supplies — The Coupon Project

  2. a+ voucher says:

    a+ voucher
    Great blog post! You get a Google +1 from me…

Leave a Reply

